“Given recent discussions with various authorities and privacy experts, we want to make it clear that we will not limit the functionality of how WhatsApp will work for those who have not yet received the update,” a WhatsApp spokesperson said said in a statement on the Verge. They added that this is the plan to move forward forever.
In a company update FAQ page, WhatsApp clarified that no users will have their accounts deleted or lose functionality if they do not accept the new methods. That said, WhatsApp will still send reminders to users to update “every now and then,” WhatsApp told the Verge. it support page, WhatsApp claims that most users who saw the update accepted.
The company aims to debunk these privacy concerns on its FAQ page, where it was emphasized that this new policy primarily affected business messaging and Facebook could not access users ’location data or message logs. WhatsApp chief Will Cathcart also posted a Twitter thread go into more detail.